Emma Biglin

Emma Biglin

Miss

Personal profile

Overview

Biography

I did my BSc in Human Biology (2011-2014) at the University of Huddersfield. I then did a postgraduate diploma in Radiotherapy and Oncology in Practice (2015-2017) at Sheffield Hallam University which was predominantly a placement-based course at Castle Hill Hospital, Hull.

Research interests

Title: Development of a biologically-relevant preclinical radiotherapy dosimetry phantom

This project aims to develop a zoomorphic phantom which mimics the size, physiological features and tissue densities of a mouse. Furthermore, the phantom will feature novel detector technology aiming to have sufficient spatial resolution to compare physical dose and biological effect at the micron scale. Ultimately, this tool could be used as a national standard to aid standardisation in preclinical dosimetry QA between centres, working with the NC3Rs to reduce error, chance of toxicity and ultimately reduce animal numbers required, whilst scientifically building confidence and reproducibility in results. 

My group

 

Karen Kirkby
Group Lead
Richard Rose Chair in Proton Therapy Physics 
View Profile
Karen.Kirkby@manchester.ac.uk

 

Norman Kirkby 

Research Fellow
View Profile
Norman.Kirkby@manchester.ac.uk

 

Michael Taylor 

Lecturer in Proton Therapy Physics
View Profile
M.J.Taylor@manchester.ac.uk

 

Michael Merchant 

Lecturer in Proton Therapy Physics 
View Profile
Michael.Merchant@Manchester.ac.uk

 

Thomas Mee 

Research Associate
View Profile
Thomas.Mee@Manchester.ac.uk

 

Amy Chadwick 

Research Associate 
View Profile
Amy.Chadwick@Manchester.ac.uk

 

Current PRECISE PhD Students

Nicholas Henthorn
John Warmenhoven
Marios Sotiropoulos
Rebecca Morris
Costanza Panaino
Edward A K Smith
Yunzhou Xia
Emma Biglin
Sam Ingram

Research Beacons, Institutes and Platforms

  • Manchester Cancer Research Centre

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics where Emma Biglin is active. These topic labels come from the works of this person. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • 1 Similar Profiles