National Optometry Lecturer of the Year Award (2017)

Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)


Dr Amit Jinabhai, lecturer in the Division of Pharmacy and Optometry (FBMH), has been announced Lecturer of the Year in the Association of Optometrists (AOP) Awards at a national award ceremony in London on 5 February.

Dr Jinabhai has been a lecturer at the University since 2012. In his position, Dr Jinabhai encourages students to challenge one another to get them thinking and discussing academic topics outside of the “clinical cubicles and lecture theatres,” believing this helps them develop their peer-review skills for the future.

Dr Jinabhai, said he was delighted to have won in this category, commenting: “This achievement is a mark of recognition for the dedication and hard work that I have undertaken in developing and continually updating all of my teaching materials.”

He added that the most rewarding part of his role is: “watching our students develop into the practitioners of the future.”
Degree of recognitionNational
Granting OrganisationsThe Association of Optometrists

Awarded at event

Event titleAOP Awards Ceremony 2017
LocationExCeL, London, United KingdomShow on map
Period5 Feb 2017 → 5 Feb 2017