Klezmer Klassica / Alexander Krein Op.12: "Jewish Sketches" Movement 1

Richard Fay (Producer), Daniel J. Mawson (Performer), Nina Semertzidou (Performer), Mabon Jones (Performer), Ali Vennart (Performer), Yigit Alp-Onat (Performer)

Research output: Non-textual formPerformance


Klezmer Klassica explores the richly generative but often un(der)explored meeting point of Western ‘classical’ music and Jewish ‘folk’ music, musical encounters against a complex historical, cultural, and political backdrop. Conceived by Richard Fay and Daniel Mawson, the Klezmer Klassica chamber ensemble explores this rich musical vein through fresh interpretations of pieces by composers both well-known (Bloch, Prokofiev, Shostakovich) and less well-known (Achron, Chajes, Gnessin, Saminsky, Wolfsohn), as well as by living composers (Cravitz, Fay, Kohn, Mawson).
Original languageEnglish
Media of outputOnline
Publication statusPublished - 22 Aug 2022


Dive into the research topics of 'Klezmer Klassica / Alexander Krein Op.12: "Jewish Sketches" Movement 1'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this