Mieczsylaw Weinberg: His Life and Music

David Fanning, Michelle Assay

Research output: Book/ReportBook


This study of a Polish-Jewish-Russian composer whose music has enjoyed a remarkable posthumous resurgence is a five-fold expansion of David Fanning's 2010 monograph. Its 325,000 words incorporate material from eight visits to Russian archives and libraries in the intervening years, with new analytical commentaries on all of Weinberg’s 154 opus-numbered works and most of his c. 80 traceable scores for film, radio, theatre and circus, in addition to new translations of his published articles and a selection of his unpublished letters, plus an expanded work-list and a large appendix on his self-quotations. My contribution amounts to c. 70% of the text.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationLondon
PublisherToccata Press
Publication statusAccepted/In press - 2020


  • Weinberg


Dive into the research topics of 'Mieczsylaw Weinberg: His Life and Music'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this